
A view of the Nilov Monastery, photographed in 1912 by Sergei Mikhailovich Prokudin-Gorskii (1863-1944). The monastery, which stands on an island in Lake Seliger in the Tver region, was founded with a bequest left by St Nilus, Nil or Neil (?-1555), who dwelt there for the last twenty-seven years of his life. Patriarch Job began the construction in 1594, though most of the buildings belong to the 18th and 19th centuries. The current Epiphany Cathedral was built in 1821-25. At first the communists used the monastery for a borstal and then a wartime prison; it afterwards served as a hospital, a retirement home and, following the collapse of the Soviet Union, as a not very successful tourist hostel. It became a monastery again in 1995, and now the monks farm, keep bees, and welcome pilgrims.